Ghanaian musicians are not nominated for the 2024 BET Awards.


Ghanaian musicians are not nominated for the 2024 BET Awards. As Nigerian talents dominated the list of nominees announced for the prestigious event.

Black Sherif flew the Ghanaian flag high last year as he took home the Best International Flow trophy from the BET Hip-hop Awards 2023. 

The well-known singer Ayra Starr is in the lead among the Nigerian nominees, having received three nominations in several categories.

She was nominated in the BET Her and Best International Act categories and won the Best New International Act award.

Ghanaian musicians are not nominated for the 2024 BET Awards.

Burna Boy, a prominent figure in the Nigerian music scene, has secured two nominations for the highly competitive Best Male R&B/Pop Artist and Best Male Hip-Hop Artist categories, solidifying his status as a top contender. 

But he faces fierce competition from big names in the business, such as Kendrick Lamar, Chris Brown, Drake, and Usher.

Another rising singer from Nigeria, Tems, was nominated for the Dr. Bobby Jones Best Gospel/Inspirational Award and Video Director of the Year.

Two more Nigerian artists are being honored: Asake and Seyi Vibez, who are up for Best International Act and Viewer’s Choice: Best New International Act, respectively.

The BET Awards will be live broadcast on Sunday, June 30th, at 8 PM ET/PT. 

The complete list of nominees for the BET Awards in 2024 is as follows: 

Best male R&B/pop artist

Brent Faiyaz



Burna Boy

Chris Brown


Bryson Tiller

October London

Best female R&B/pop artist

Victoria Monét

READ ALSO →   "Work went well in the beginning." Nana Acheampong has detailed the Lumba Brothers' parting ways.



Doja Cat



Muni Long

Coco Jones

Best group

2 Chainz & Lil Wayne

Blxst & Bino Rideaux

¥$, Ye, Ty Dolla $ign

City Girls




Maverick City Music

Best new artist

Ayra Starr

Bossman Dlow




Sexyy Red

October London

Best male hip-hop artist

Kendrick Lamar


Burna Boy


Lil Wayne


J. Cole

21 Savage

Best female hip-hop artist

Nicki Minaj

Doja Cat

Sexyy Red


Cardi B

Ice Spice

Megan Thee Stallion


Album of the year

Nicki Minaj, Pink Friday 2

Victoria Monét, Jaguar II

Gunna, A Gift & A Curse

21 Savage, American Dream

Usher, Coming Home

Chris Brown, 11:11

Killer Mike, Michael

Drake, For All the Dogs (Scary Hours Edition)

Best collaboration

Usher, Summer Walker & 21 Savage, “Good Good”

Drake feat. Sexyy Red & SZA, “Rich Baby Daddy”

Beyoncé feat. Kendrick Lamar, “America Has a Problem (Remix)”

Nicki Minaj & Ice Spice (With Aqua), “Barbie World”

Lil Durk feat. J. Cole, “All My Life”

¥$, Ye, Ty Dolla $ign feat. Rich The Kid, Playboi Carti, “Carnival”

Lola Brooke feat. Latto & Yung Miami, “Don’t Play With It (Remix)”

Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion, “Bongos”

Nicki Minaj feat. Lil Uzi Vert, “Everybody”

Dr. Bobby Jones, Tems, “Me & U”

Best Gospel/Inspirational Award

Kirk Franklin, “Try Love”

Halle Bailey, “Angel”

CeCe Winans, “Come Jesus Come”

Erica Campbell, Do You Believe in Love?”

Shirley Caesar, “Award All of the Glory”

Kirk Franklin, “All Things”

READ ALSO →   Fella Makafui remarks on her marital uncertainty with Medikal

Maverick City Music, Naomi Raine & Chandler Moore, “God Problems”

Video of the year

Usher, Summer Walker & 21 Savage, “Good Good”

Doja Cat, “Agora Hills”

Lil Durk feat J. Cole, “All My Life”

Drake feat. Sexyy Red & SZA, “Rich Baby Daddy”

Cardi B feat. Megan Thee Stallion, “Bongos”

Drake feat. J. Cole, “First Person Shooter”

Nicki Minaj & Ice Spice (With Aqua), “Barbie World”

Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”

Video director of the year




Cole Bennett

Benny Boom

Janelle Monáe & Alan Ferguson

Tyler, The Creator

Dave Meyers

Viewer’s choice award

Beyoncé, “Texas Hold ‘Em”

Lil Durk feat. J. Cole, “All My Life”

Chris Brown feat. Davido & Lojay, “Sensational”

Gunna, “Fukumean”

Tyla, “Water”

Muni Long, “Made for Me”

Doja Cat, “Agora Hills”

Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”

Drake feat. Sexyy Red & SZA, “Rich Baby Daddy”

Jack Harlow, “Lovin on Me”


Ayra Starr, “Commas”

SZA, “Saturn”

Nicki Minaj feat. Tasha Cobbs Leonard, “Blessings”

Flo feat. Missy Elliott, “Fly Girl”

GloRilla, “Yeah Glo!”

Megan Thee Stallion, “Hiss

Beyoncé, “16 Carriages”

Victoria Monét, “On My Mama”

Best international act

Tyla (Africa)

Raye (UK)

Aya Nakamura (France)

Asake (Africa)

Bk’ (Brazil)

Ayra Starr (Africa)

Cleo Sol (UK)

Focalistic (Africa)

Karol Conká (Brazil)

Tiakola (France)

Viewer’s choice: best new international act

Seyi Vibez (Africa)

Duquesa (Brazil)

Cristale (UK)

Holly G (France)

Tyler Icu (Africa)

Jungeli (France)

Makhadzi (Africa)

Oruam (Brazil)

Bellah (UK)