Parliament approves new Ministers.


Parliament approves new Ministers. Following weeks of discussion and examination, Parliament finally approved the ministerial nominations that President Akufo-Addo had suggested.

This endorsement comes after rigorous legislative chamber deliberations and protracted screening procedures.

The Minority in Parliament, in a bold move, staged a walkout from the August House, a symbolic action to express their strong displeasure with the Ministers and Deputy Ministers-designate that President Akufo-Addo had nominated. They argue that the current power and economic crises are a direct result of government incompetence, underscoring the urgent need for immediate action rather than the ratification of new ministers.

Minority Leader Dr. Cassiel Ato Forson said that the caucus could not support the nominees’ ratification before the Appointments Committee report was adopted. 

Mr. Speaker, given the current state of affairs in the nation—economic catastrophe, food insecurity, “dumsor,” and imprudent borrowing—the Minority does not support the nominations of these ministers.

“Entrepreneurs face difficulties. The government has relaxed its restrictions even though it has advised Ghanaians to tighten their belts.

“The president of Ghana does not convey to the people that the mess he has created is serious by gathering ministers and deputies in one place.”

The list of nominees for minister and deputy minister is below.

Dr. Bernard Okoe Boye, Hon.; Ophelia Mensah Hayford, Environment, Science, Technology, and Innovation; Ms. Fatimatu Abubakar, Information; Children and Social Protection, Dakoa Newman; Local Government, Decentralization, and Rural Development Martin Adjei-Mensah Korsah; Lydia Seyram Alhassan, Hon., Sanitation and Water Resources; Andrew Egyapa Mercer, MP, Greater Accra Region; Titus Glover, Hon., Tourism, Arts, and Culture; Mr. Daniel Machator, Oti Region.

READ ALSO →   Due to unrest in Kukuom in the Ahafo Region, police arrest Collins Dauda and pursue other individuals.

The deputy ministerial nominees are Hon. Charles Acheampong for Communications and Digitalization; Hon. Adelaide Ntim, MP Alexander Akwasi Acquah for Health; Hon. Dr. Prince Hamidu Armah for Works and Housing; Sylvester Tetteh, MP for Information; Vincent Ekow Assafuah for Local Government, Decentralization, and Rural Development; 

Lands and Natural Resources, Akwasi Konadu; Fisheries and Aquaculture Development Hon. Musah Abdul Aziz Ayaba; Energy John Kobina Sanie, Collins Adomako Mensah; Education Kingsley Nyarko; Employment and Labour Relations Hon. Festus Awuah Kwofie; Gender, Children and Social Protection Hon. Benjamin Sekyere Yeboah.”